Looking Out for the Little Guy

This is part one of this series. You can check out the second part here.

They say it’s not easy being green – and that is definitely true in my case.

People who know me say I am adaptable. Not just to the cold but also to the places I call home. You can find me in the mixed grasslands of southern Alberta. I’m most at home along the edge of a pond, in a marsh, stream, or river – but like many Albertans, sometimes I like to relax on lakefront property. As long as the water is clear and clean and there are some lightly wooded areas, I am a happy camper.

Though I’m only about 10 cm long, I am considered larger than most others like me – but I’m not bothered by that at all. My size makes it possible for me to travel further away from my moist habitat in search of food – give me rain or heavy dew and I can go for miles.

Our population is small, and our habitat areas are fragmented. Sometimes the smallest disturbance in my ecosystem can have a disastrous effect.

Despite this, I never have trouble with the ladies. I use my low-pitched call that sounds like a short guttural snore followed by several clucking or grunting noises – it drives them wild.

Kermit has nothing on me: we northern leopard frogs are a friendly bunch and our pads are always hopping.

Photo of a northern leopard frog

You can be a part of my story – and those of others like me – by reporting any sightings of me to your nearest Fish and Wildlife Office, and learning how to minimize the impacts of your activities on Alberta’s plant and animal habitats.

Recognize World Animal Day on October 4 by checking out Alberta’s Species at Risk Guide and finding out about Alberta’s Strategy for the Management of Species at Risk. Knowing about our province’s most vulnerable species and how to minimize risk to them will ensure they will be around for generations to come.

2 thoughts on “Looking Out for the Little Guy

  1. I like your frog summary and reviewed the Alberta Species at Risk Guide. I noted that most of the ‘Threatened or Species at Risk’ in Alberta are impacted by industry, roads and habitat destruction. I don’t understand why a science based publication would list the species alphabetically instead of putting them in basic biological groups such as, plants, fish, amphibians, birds and mammals, so Albertans can readily understand, for example, that 25% of native fish species are: “At Risk, May Be At Risk or Sensitive”! This group includes many important sportfish such as bull trout, westslope cutthroat trout, Athabasca rainbow trout & Arctic grayling, that mainly inhabit the heavily industrialized Eastern Slopes.
    By throwing all species in alphabetical soup, it’s easy to overlook the habitat damage inflicted on East Slopes river & stream populations of native sport fish.

    • Hi Carl – thanks for your feedback. The guide’s alphabetical organization makes it easier for users to look up a specific species. That being said, your point is well taken, and I’ll forward your comments to the folks in charge of the publication.

      – Jackie

Leave a Reply

