Looking Out for the Little Guy – Part 2

This is part two of this series. You can check out the first part here.

In the depths of the boreal forest, amidst century-old trembling aspen, balsam popular and white spruce trees, you can find me…at least when I’m not wintering in Mexico and Central America.

My friends and I are only about 11 cm long, but what we lack in size we make up with our natural good looks. A bright yellow face, black throat and tail, and an olive green crown, back and wings – I hate to brag, but we are quite the lookers.

No one really knows exactly how many of us are left. Habitat loss and fragmentation, both here and in my winter home, have caused me and my pals to get closer in the last few years but that’s not our only problem. Small mammals steal our eggs and cowbirds lay their eggs in our nests, resulting in us having to feed them – sometimes at the expense of our own babies.

As you can see, it’s not all fun and song for a black-throated green warbler like me.

Photo of a black-throated green warbler

This Saturday was World Animal Day – a day to remember me and other species at risk. But don’t forget about me during the other 364 days of the year. You can be a part of my story – and those of others like me – by learning how to minimize the impacts of your activities on Alberta’s plant and animal habitats.

Check out Alberta’s Species at Risk Guide to read about species like me – and read Alberta’s Strategy for the Management of Species at Risk to learn what’s being done to help us. Knowing about our province’s most vulnerable species and how to minimize risk to them is the first step to ensuring they will be around for generations to come.

Leave a Reply

